Letters to the editor 19

 

Ontario Arts REVIEW

Gentlemen
It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog!
I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
I look forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
Maura Strauss, Ft. Lauderdale   Sept. 20th,’2014

Hello Mr Danny Gaisin,
Thank you for your positive critics of Ben Kepes, at the Brott Festival. I was at the July 24th concert, and it was just truly magical. Can you write about the forthcoming concerts also?Confidentially, I am the dad of Ben Kepes, so I am not exactly just a neutral bystander.I appreciate your nice comments on Ben. Could we have more of it? only if he deserves it ! With best wishes.
George Kepes, Montreal.   Aug. 2nd ’14

I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.The issue is something not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I stumbled across this during my hunt for something concerning this.
Vonnie Coppin, June 3rd, ’14

Comment:
I think Samantha Stanton hit the nail on the head with her comment on the review. While Mr. Gaisin definitely could have focused on Ms. Houpt’s (by all accounts stellar) acting abilities, Ms. Houpt’s role, in this case, was a role that was sexually objectified. I agree, in most instances, sexual objectification does not have a role in theatre criticism – except when the role focuses on sexual objectification as something that is empowering and a reviewer comments that an actor performed said sexual objectification effectively. Mr. Gaisin was hardly saying that Ms. Houpt (or any woman) should be blamed for rape or sexual assault – I’m very sensitive to the fact that as women, we’re subjected to demeaning and objectifying comments on a daily basis. But to equate Mr. Gaisin’s comments to those blaming victims of sexual assault are off the mark and as far as I’m concerned are disingenuous to those who have actually been sexually assaulted. That Ms. Houpt projected sex appeal is, in my mind, a testament to her talent and her capacity to project what was asked of her in her role. It’s more than a little absurd to me that as a community, we collectively seem to be demonizing a reviewer for writing that she exuded sexuality convincingly (as opposed to demonizing him, for example, for not praising the rest of her talents as well) when her role demanded that.
It’s also disconcerting that as a community that seems to be driven by feminist issues, we’re strip-shaming and perpetuating the myth that it’s not okay for women to have sexual agency, completely discarding the idea that sexual objectification can be empowering in certain contexts (namely: the context of this role, and the context of stripping in certain cases). Ms. Houpt’s character was not a stripper – but to say Mr. Gaisin’s comments are inappropriate because he’s implying that she’s sexually attractive enough to be a stripper is to say there’s something inherently wrong with stripping and, on a broader and even more problematic level, with a female exuding sex appeal. Sex workers and erotic dancers – and a ton of feminists – have been fighting discourses like this for years. It’s possible to be a stripper and to have agency, be empowered, be sexy, and be an amazing dancer. Maybe Mr. Gaisin could have phrased his comment differently – “Ms. Houpt exuded sexuality effectively”? – but his comment itself was not offensive unless we’re the type of people who think that stripping is offensive. If stripping is tied to being in a position of poverty or addiction that necessitates it, fine, it can be inagential. But for a woman to use her body to control how people feel and to earn money from exerting that control? That can be incredibly empowering. Thinking that stripping is inherently offensive is buying into the very same myths that we want to deconstruct: that women are blameworthy because they articulate sexuality and that patriarchy/oppressing women’s sexuality is somehow right.
Ms. Houpt did strip on stage, in effect gave someone a lapdance on stage, and wildly succeeded at being sexy – but a reviewer isn’t allowed to admit that she succeeded in being sexually provocative? Seems a little hypocritical to me. Ms. Houpt accepted this role of her own free will. If her family and friends are not prepared for her to be viewed as sexually appealing in a role where the entire point is sexual appeal, then perhaps her family and friends should reconsider coming to her shows. Ms. Houpt is an adult who took this role with agency and made her own choice – it was her decision to do so. So why is she being treated as a victim? If she was not comfortable with the role, she could have chosen not to take it – it’s as simple as that. It’s not up to her family or friends to adopt protectionist stances that, quite frankly, entrench the very patriarchy they’re attempting to fight by denying women any overt expression of sexuality. Ms. Houpt performed her role, and performed it well. And we should applaud her for being effective at exuding the sexuality that was an integral part of her role, rather than getting indignant when a reviewer acknowledges that she did that.
As a footnote, Gary Smith recently wrote a review of Nine where he talked about Markus Carreiro’s “handsome shoulders” – as a gay reviewer (and maybe even if he’d been a straight reviewer), Mr. Smith is clearly sexually objectifying Mr. Carreiro, when his role had nothing to do with sexuality. Where is our outrage in this instance? Can’t we level similar comments at this review that have been levelled at Mr. Gaisin’s (ie, that he shouldn’t be sexually objectifying an actor and should be commenting on the actor’s talents instead of her/his ability to be sexy)? Demeaning and objectifying comments directed at gay men within LGBTQ communities – an already marginalized community – are also a huge social problem, and in this case, Mr. Carreiro’s role did not involve overtly portraying sexuality. I’m not saying that we should take offence to Mr. Smith’s comments – I’m merely saying it’s a bit of a double-standard.

Kassandra Stapely,  Apr. 29th, 2014

Comment:
Saw the performance (NUMBERS) this past weekend. What an incredible show. The way this story depicted the invasion of Poland by the Nazis through song, dance and dialogue left me with chills. Epic. the young girl, played by Madison Brydges in the role of Halina did an outstanding job portraying the fear and confusion in the midst of the holocaust.  . Her strong expression and movement through dance was beautiful, topped off with strong expression and vocals with intense monologue.  She had the audience at her fingertips.  Just a brilliant show overall.
“Lakeview 62″  Nov. 18th, 2013

Comment:   Sounds like a very intriguing presentation. It must be interesting to learn about connections between Jewish culture and genres that aren’t usually associated with it. Quite surprising that some of the names were mentioned, but also fairly mindblowing in a way that the influence of Jewish musicians in the genre has been overlooked, yet these musicians are part of some of the most influential groups (or are just influential on their own).
Taylor K.  Nov. 1st. ’13

Great review, Danny, captures my interest.
Hi Danny, Thank you so much for coming out to review our show last night.  I just read your review and thought it was wonderful.  Not only did I gain insight into the past through your eyes, I also gained another perspective on our presentation of the show.  I agree with you that this is a story to be shared again and again. Lest we forget…  I also wanted to mention that we are Music Theatre Mississauga and the presenters of this play; not Meadowvale Music Theatre.  Please correct this in your article.  I do understand with the two names being so similar that it is easy to mix up especially when they are part of our Encore Series group and will be presenting The Secret Garden in February. Again, it was a pleasure seeing you and Terry last night and we appreciate your support for our show.  Best  Regards,
Marlene Taylor,  Producer  Oct. 19th, ’13

ARTS REVIEW Editor,
It was a pleasure to be involved with this group of professionals for such a wonderful cause. Thank you Alex, Lesley, Tina and the Shadowpath team of volunteers, artists and those that supported this event.
Michael H.  Ballard,   June 24th, ’13

New comment on your post “Kudos to Hamilton’s BROTTS; well-deserved
Dear Ms Gaisin,
Thank you for these reviews which you and your husband, Danny, share with your readers. I recall the thoughtful review that Danny did for a talk which Rabbi Baskin offered at Westdale United Church where I am a minister. In regard to the above review, I appreciate your capturing the spirit of an evening for such a deserving and noted Hamiltonian in Boris Brott.      What was unfortunate for me was to read the dismissive and stereo-typing-like way in which you characterized the protesters outside the Convention Centre. They were there not to dishonor Maestro Brott, or the arts. They were present to challenge even the beauty of the arts when used as a cover to ignore human rights violations.
The JNF enables the creation of illegal settlements/and settlement land cultivation. Noble as the goal is for building a Concert Hall (from the evenings proceeds) it is a Concert Hall for Beit Ha’arava which is in the middle of Oslo Accord determined Palestinian territory of the West Bank. The protesters were not protesting the arts, they were raising their legitimate voice for a fund that contributes to the expulsion of their people and land. No more, no less.They also did so lawfully and with the consultation of the Officers present, who spoke of appreciating that they came to speak with them, so that their voices could be heard, and the boundaries of the concert not be encroached. Neither the protest, or the people they were seeking to protect ‘back home’, were anything close to being ‘jihadist’ as you characterized them.
In closing may I ask that your thoughtful nuanced writing when it comes to reviewing the arts also demonstrate the same when it comes to politics and free speech.    Thank you for reading this, and affording me the chance to write it through this ‘reply’ option to you.I do not share what I have written, lightly, but in hopes of raising a legitimate point alongside your otherwise good writing. I also share what I have written here on the strength that I was present that evening myself, outside the Convention Center, standing alongside these protesters.
Sincerely.
Rev Andy Crowell  June 8th, ’13

Comment:  I believe what you published made a lot of sense.  However, what about this? what if you wrote a catchier title? I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, however what if you added something that grabbed people’s attention?  I mean “MEDEA” a killer lady &; a killer plot   is kinda boring.
Belle Peters, May 3rd. ’13

To: ONTARIO ARTS REVIEW
Greetings I am so delighted I found your webpage, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.
Marissa G.  April 21st, ’13

Hi Terry & Danny!!
What a fantastic write up!!! Thanks for sending me the link! I will put it in as a favourite – and read lots more of your reviews! I have much to learn from you! Thank you!! – I am a new-be at doing this sort of article – It was a fun play!!I did not intend for you to give me a photo credit – I just wanted to give you a choice! …. but thank you!! I feel a bit like the “before-cast of Wife After Death” in awe and  – honoured to be connected to you and your amazing article!!  Hope to see you both again soon!
Janet Bedford. Mar.18th, ‘13

This is Elisa from Shooting Star Theatrics. I hope that you and Terry are doing well! This email is a little late, but I just wanted to say thank you for selecting our production of Annie Get Your Gun as part of the Ontario Arts Review’s list of top ten 2012 productions. I shared this news with the cast and crew, and everyone was absolutely thrilled to hear that we had received such an honour. It truly means a lot to us. Thank you very much!
Elisa Sorbara, Shooting Star Theatrics,  Mar. 3rd.’13

O.A.R. Comment:
This is very interesting, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look ahead to searching for extra of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks.
Melissa Rasmussen (re- Farndale’s MacBeth)  Feb. 4, ’13

Ontario Arts Review
Dear Danny:
Please convey my thanks to Terry for bringing this [O.A.R.'s TOP  10] to my attention, it’s very much appreciated.

Yours truly,  Aubrey Dan     Dancap Group of Companies  Jan. 18, 2013

to O.A.R. editor

Hi Terry  We appreciate being named to  your Top 10, Thanks very much.
Carol Kehoe  Executive Director, Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra  Jan. 16/ 2013

Editor- ONTARIO ARTS REVIEW
Thanks for this — it’s an honour being named to your TOP TEN and we will be putting on our FaceBook page along with the POPERA review !!!
Take care,
David Speers  General Director -OPERA HAMILTON  Jan.16th, ’13

to: Arts Review
Hello Danny
I just read your review for Love Train and just wanted to say thanks for the lovely words and compliments! Happy holidays
Saccha Dennis, actor – Stage West  Jan. 9, 2013

to:- Ontario Arts Review - editor
Many thanks for your kind review Mr. Gaisin. So glad you enjoyed the performance.
Robert Laszcz,  ” Mr. De Lacey”  FRANKENSTEIN by Oakville Players,  Oct. 31st, 2012

Hi there!  This is Elisa from Shooting Star Theatrics. I just wanted to send a quick note to say thank you for coming to our production of Annie Get Your Gun. We enjoyed reading the review and have received additional ticket sales because of it. Thank you very much for the support!  Also I was wondering – would it be possible for you to email me a couple of the cast & orchestra pictures that you took at the end of the night? We’d like to get one of them printed to hang in our theatre space.  Thanks again for the review, and it was great meeting you!

Best regards, Elisa Sorbara  Artistic Director Shooting Star Theatrics Inc. Aug. 28th 2012
Editor’s note: We will make all our 7 photos available to SHOOTING STAR

Comment:I attended the Annie get your gun Aug, 24 and I must say Annie played by Kathleen Dodd left me speechless , Kathleen’s voice was beautiful.
Terry Ferguson, Aug. 26th, ’12

Dear Dan: Dear O.A.R. Editor I’ve been on a bit of a ‘high’ after reading your very kind comments with regard to our recent Beauty and the Beast show. I played the part of Mrs. Potts and enjoyed every minute of it, being in the company of such a talented cast. I thank you very kindly for your words. Best regards, Enid Stronach actor – Beauty/Beast – Meadowvale. January 30, 2012

Hi there Danny!
I wanted to let you know that I just read and enjoyed your review of American Idiot! This is Nicci Claspell (quoted as “Campbell” in your review, a common mistake) and I just wanted to clarify that my character, The Extraordinary Girl, is Tunny’s nurse but in morphine-dream form. Leslie McDonel plays the role of heather, Will’s girlfriend. Thanks again for the review! -Nicci Claspell American Idiot cast-member, January 2, 2012

Terry,
I just wanted to take a moment to say thank you so much for a wonderful review!! I feel as though I may owe you my next born child!! It was a pleasure to meet both you and your husband, and I am so happy you had a good evening!! Hope we meet again soon!!
Jill Whelan, “Move over, Mrs. Markham”, Sept. 28, 2011

Danny 
Thank you for your comments regarding A Life In The Theatre. I appreciated that you understood the complexity yet delicateness with which I tried to handle the presentation. Thank you both for coming out and for your ongoing support and friendship.
 
Paul Groulx, director “A Life in the Theatre” W.E.S.T , Sept. 10

Hi Danny!
I just wanted to send this email to thank you on behalf of the entire “Gentleman’s Club” troupe for your wonderful and inspiring review. As you stated in your article, oftentimes improvised theater can be a very difficult tightrope to walk — especially during a festival that has so many outstanding scripted productions to choose from. With that being said, your fantastic review has reminded us that there is certainly a place in the theater community for improv done with care. As a result we are both inspired and encouraged by your words and will strive to live up to them with each and every performance remaining in our runSo thank you, thank you and thank you for giving us the opportunity to perform for you. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and your article has left us beaming.Cheers!
-Jordan Markowski The Gentlemen’s Club Toronto Fringe 2011 July 7

Hi Danny,
On behalf of the production team, I’d just like to quickly apologize for the inconvenience caused by our little emergency tonight – but we hope you did enjoy the little bit of the show that you did manage to see. We would still like very much like a review from you – please let me know if you could make another night during the run. If none of the dates will work, we could explore the possibility of having you in during one of the student matinees that we present for elementary schools on weekday mornings. Please let me know if there’s anything I can do to facilitate this. Many thanks,

Charlie Henderson, Asst. musical director, “ONCE UPON AS MATTRESS” ARTSMART may 27

Dear O.A.R. Editor

Great Review (of Amadeus) We cannot wait to see the play. As we know “Constant Bernard” personally, we are not surprised to hear of his great performance.We (our family) hope to see him on Broadway in Toronto or even New York one day. We are very proud of our nephew. Constant has come a long way. We wish him the best of luck in his future challenges.Hélène Lalonde, Rockland, Ontario Apr. 15, 2011

Danny, Thanks for the wonderful review! The challenge of Peter Pan was tremendous, and the entire cast and crew rose to the occasion. I would be remiss in not mentioning the fantastic efforts of our stage crew, as we could never have pulled off the incredible set movements (and there are no more delays) without a very dedicated crew.Thanks again for your commitment to community theatre. It does not go unnoticed. Andrew Jackson,Assistant Director, Peter Pan Mar. 30, 2011

Hi Danny, I just wanted to say thank you very much for the great review of Urinetown. It is such a rarity for an ensemble member to be mentioned in a review and your kind words really meant a lot to me. So glad you enjoyed the show!Thanks again and take care,

Jackie Burns (a.k.a. Easy Edna) Meadowvale Music Theatre, Feb. 18, 2011

Mr Gaisin,

While I (and the rest of the cast and hard-working crew) appreciate your enthusiastic review of Cabaret, I take great umbrage to your statement that I don’t “look Jewish.” Maybe I should have a hook nose or a more swarthy complexion. I’m not sure; what does Jewish look like aside from stereotypes that should not be a part of our worldview in this century, yet obviously are to you. Would you complain if a light-skinned black man were to sing “Old Man River” in Showboat? I could go on, but I think I’ve made my point. Your reference to me as not looking Jewish has taken what should have been a stellar review and made it offensive. Don Berns Jan. 22nd 2011PS. FYI-I AM Jewish. Bar Mitzvahed and everything.

Dear Mr. Gaisin,He doesn’t look Jewish!??!?!? That’s probably the most ridiculous and anti-Semitic comment I’ve read of late. How should Mr. Berns “look Jewish”, and more importantly, what does it mean to “look Jewish”? And what does “looking Jewish” have to do with this production? This comment makes you sound ignorant and set firmly in those times you are writing about – no matter what your religion or political leanings are, this is an insensitive comment – and in bold no less. Did Hitler care who looked Jewish? Not at all. He wouldn’t have cared what Herr Schultz looked like, nor should you.Aviva Cipin Jan. 23rd, 2011 Just so you know… Don Berns (who plays Herr Schultz in Cabaret) IS JEWISH!Your comment, “Only problem…he doesn’t look Jewish” is completely stupid. It’s like saying someone doesn’t look British or Australian or American. Not all Jews have big noses, dark curly hair and thick bushy eyebrows. Look at Art Garfunkle, Joaquin Phoenix, Sammy Davis Jr, Rodney Dangerfield, the list goes on. What do you expect him to do, show the audience his circumcised penis? You really should apologize to your readers for your supremely ignorant comment.. and try to salvage some of the respect you most certainly lost. You didn’t insult me, I’m not Jewish. I just thought it was an idiotic thing to say. Dan Cummings Burlington, ON, Jan. 25, 2011

Hi Danny,

Just a quick note to say thanks for the review in Ontario Arts Review.We appreciate it. Alex Karolyi, Atistic Producer Shadowpath Dec.3rd ’10

Hi Danny,

I was marvelled by your review. Thanks so much for making us realize what we are doing, because most of us don’t know the impact we are provoking.
Julio Ospina [UTM class of 2012 ] “A Child of Survivors” cast-member. Nov. 14th

Hi Terry,

I just came across your review…and wanted to send a sincere thank you for your kind words. I’m so glad you enjoyed our production of {Stratford’s) Peter Pan.All the best,

Jay T. Schramek “woof” June 29, ’10

Great to hear from you!

I’m gradually working backwards through the e-mail that arrived while I was out of reach. Fortunately I saw Claire in their Toronto Fringe performance — yikes! scary!– though I’m sorry to have missed Danielle. Also caught Ryan in his awesome “Claude” role that played in Hamilton the year before. (I’m so glad you enjoyed their work!)

In fact, with 8 Magnetic North, 12 Toronto Fringe, 9 SummerWorks, 2 Stratford, and half a dozen other summer theatre shows under my belt this summer, you’d almost think I was auditioning to write for the Ontario Arts Review! Ha! Take care! — Patrick

Patrick Young, Artistic Director UTM Arts Faculty, [Theatre Erindale] Aug. 11th

Thank you, sir!

The cast was humbled upon reading, as am I still. When my director returns from a week’s vacation to Nashville (big country fan) we’re sitting down to discuss a remount in either Barrie or Toronto. We’ve lined up a preliminary producer as well so the ball’s already begun rolling…

Paul Koster, author- “STATE OF NEW YORK v PETER PAN” July 27, 2010

Thank you for coming to see our show and for a very wonderful review. We particularly enjoyed “sesquipedalian” being used (you taught us all a new word; we love it!) Thanks for all the kind words,

Ryan M. Sero, playwright, star – “INBETWEEN TIMES” July 27

Danny and Terry,

Thanks so much for getting us media passes to critique the shows. We had a blast and would love to do it again.We’ll connect again this summer!

Heather Peacock & Dr. Michael Mandel [Reviewers- TOR FRINGE] July 13, ’10

Re: Review of Sheridan’s “Cabaret”

I think your review is most interesting and I thought the performance we saw this past Tuesday was wonderful. I agree with most of your assessments, but I am surprised that you did not single out a particular dancer/actor, Judy Kovacs… my group thought she did an outstanding job and we want to wish her a long and very successful career! I must admit I do not remember Kyla Musselman, the most petite dancer you say….I rather thought Ms. Kovacs is quite petite and packs a very powerful performance! She never broke “character”; she is a fabulous dancer and her solo song was great. You might want to keep an eye out for more of this Judy Kovacs! I know that I will!
 Sincerely, Meredith Tone Apr.15, 2010

Hi Danny,

Thank you for a wonderful review of Gypsy. The entire cast and crew has worked very hard to make sure we did justice to the story and make the show a success. It is wonderful to know that the vision that the directing team had for the show comes across so well. It has been an absolute pleasure performing in this show because there truly is an abundance of talent involved, and I have had the extremely good fortune of working on-stage with the incredible Maria DePalma and Candice Sheehan.

You called Maria’s performance “a superb portrayal” and you could not be more right. She makes Rose come to life and takes us all on an incredible ride. I get goose bumps every single time I hear her perform “Rose’s Turn”. As a performer, you long for shows like this, when you feel it all come together. This has been an absolute joy. Too bad it finishes after only 5 more performances! Andrew Jackson , Theatre Unlimited, Jan. 26th 2010

re; TOP TEN of O.A.R.

No, no, no, no….thank you!!!! I’m so happy to work with the both of you! Thank you for all that you do to promote local artists in the City of Mississauga and beyond.Your work is a great contribution to the arts and culture in Ontario and all of us at the council thank you for your tremendous effort and commitment.I hope 2010 is a wonderful year for both you and Terry.All the best, Heather

Heather Bissenden,;Mississauga Arts Council; Jan. 2nd, 2010

Hi Danny & Terry:

What a treat on our first day back from the holiday break to receive your very kind words about our Pictures at an Exhibition project. It remains a highlight for us, as well and I agree, it is difficult to get some of the artwork out of our minds all these months later.Thanks again for all your support and I hope this finds Terry feeling better.

Mary Pat Elliot; National Academy Orchestra, Jan.4, 2010

Hello Mr Gaisin,

Just wanted to thanks for coming to see the show last week. It was a pleasure catching up with you. Also, thank you for the great review. Those were very kind words you wrote.

Hopefully I will see you soon. Merry Christmas!!

Trevor Covelli, “One Hit Wonders” Dec. 18,’09

Thanks for your message Danny, and your ongoing musical friendship! I hope things are going well with you :)

Chris McKhool “Sultans of Swing” Dec. 7th ’09

Dear Sir/Madam,

The reivew (sic) by Danny Gaisin, in my opinion, is really awkward. It seems the author was hallucinating [about] his missed football match with the Tchidovsky’s (sic) great concerto. Comparing American Football with a piano concerto is really something! Reading this review doesn’t help the reader to get any sense of the perfromed (sic) music. As a music reviewer, the author should understand that for an artist on stage, there won’t be a penalty if he or she missses (sic) something; you either make it or you don’t. Again as his final verdict of “good” versus “great” reading, one wonders what elements he would consider to make a good to great, other than the quarterback getting the ball to the 3rd down while 20 other giants kick him!

Kambiz Parcham-Azad Dec 3, 2009

Dear Ontario Arts Review

Thank you so much for coming last night, and your review today. (Yes, I always think of Laugh-In too — but it was an accidental reference!) Hope to see you at the theatre again soon.

Mimi Mekler, Director; METAMORPHOSES, Sheridan College, Dec.4th

Good Afternoon Danny,

It was so nice to meet you at last night’s performance of Till We Meet Again. I had the pleasure of reading your review this afternoon and I wanted to thank you for not only attending, but for also writing a beautiful piece about the production. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the show. The photo looks great. Also, it was really interesting to listen to you recount some of your memories from that time.Looking forward to seeing you and Terry out at another production.Thank you once again.Warmest regards,

Amanda Neale-Robinson, PENNANT MEDIA GROUP Nov. 19th

Dear Danny, I just read your review of VIAGRA FALLS…Wonderful, thanks and God bless you. You picked up all the things essential for the play – the friendship; humanity of it all and you were very truthful. Its now on our website and wassent to our office in Hollywood…they are ecstatic! You will be quoted many times over. Thanks again

Lou Cutell, writer/director Los Angeles Oct. 12,

 

Dear Mr. Gaisin,

It was such a pleasure seeing you towards the closing performance of our show, Type 2 – A Tragic Comedy. Hearing you say how some shows are just too important not to go on really affirmed our mission to continue performing our work. We were not fortunate enough to be selected for the Next Stage Festival with the Toronto Fringe but have since acquired a full sponsorship through the CMHA Niagara branch and Brock University. The sponsors have fully and generously funded the show for two appearances in St. Catherine’s on Sept. 11, 2009.They are giving away nearly 1,100 free tickets and parking because they feel the show is so important and everyone and anyone should be able to see it.

We are very grateful for this new opportunity but also for your enthusiasm and interest in our production. Thank you again, so sincerely for the wonderful vote of confidence and terrific review which we proudly display as often as possible.

I hope this note finds you and Terry both well and do hope that our paths will cross again sometime in the not too distant future.

Michelle Mainwaring & Jason Gale, “Type 2, a Tragic Comedy” Aug. 15th

“Danny Gaisin might be a wit, but Hello?! Gordon Lightfoot’s song about the Edmund Fitzgerald is in the genre of a folk epic. Lengthy repetition of a short phase of melody is the format.”

Got this note from my friend Mac Hoban in Hobart, Tasmania

DAIGRESSING; column by Dai Woosnam, Lincolnshire England. Aug. 8th

Dear Mr. Gaisin,
Thank you very much for your review. We were thrilled that you came to our show and took the time to give us such a fantastic review. We have worked on the pacing and thank you, very sincerely, again for your kind words. We are very grateful.
Sincerely,
Michelle Mainwaring & Jason Gale -MJM Productions July 21st

attn: David Horsman- Ontario Arts Review

Hi Dave,

Read your review of the “Foursome”. Liked the way you mixed the professional with the personal and came up with a most readable and engaging review. You have a polished flair for reviewing as you can write the way you talk which very few can. Peter Faux, July 20th

Hi Danny,

Great to hear from you! Hope you are having a great summer so far.Thank you so much for the Aquarelle plug! My colleague, Carla Perrotta-Pyrgos is our membership co-ordinator and a very talented clarinettist. She’s put the festival together with a few of her good friends. So far she’s gotten a wonderful response! She will be interviewed on Classical 96.3fm this Friday to plug the event as well :)Thank you for your support as always! You are soooo good to us!Talk soon,Heather Bissenden; Mississauga Arts Council July 20th

GREAT to hear from you, Danny,And l just loved that line of yours: “The piece takes longer to complete than the ship took to go down!”[ref: Gordon Lightfoot’s “Wreak of the Edmund Fitzgerald”] You ask re my health. Thanks for asking, but the arthritis is now spread to my spine and only Voltarol slow release tablets are getting me through the day.All those years in fish and chip shops are now taking their inevitable course!Love and Peace (to you and Terry),

Dai.Woosnam, Folksong critic Lincolnshire, England July 18th

Dear Mr Gaisin:As proud parents of “Rizzo” Peters, thank you for that review. Would it be possible for you to mail us a hard copy.Thank you

Wendy Peters, London Apr. 16th

editor’s note: We responded with instructions on how to print off copies of any articles published in Ontario Arts ReviewTerry: On behalf of City Centre Musical Productions and the cast & crew of ‘South Pacific’, I would like to thank you for your wonderful review of of our latest production. It was, as always, a pleasure to see yourself and Danny at Meadowvale Theatre again.As you can no doubt tell, we are all having a great time perfroming ‘South Pacific’ — it is very gratifying to have the audience equal, if not better, our enjoyment of the show. Again, thank you very much for joining us last evening and we look forward to seeing you both next year for ‘Titanic – The Musical’. All the best,David O’Hearn, CCMP, Mar. 28th

Hi, Danny,

Thanks for the review – very kind of you and much appreciated.
Just a point of information: The US Congress is comprised of the Senate and
the House of Representatives but usually only members of the House are
called Congressmen.It’s much the same as the Canadian Parliament which is comprised of the
House of Commons and the Senate but only members of the Commons are referred
to as ‘MP’.
Thanks again – it was good to see you both again.David Nash, director Curious Savage Mar. 27th Hi Danny,
 
I read your review of the Kuerti’s night. You were able to express clearly in words what we felt that night… If only words could play back the music! Hope you’re enjoying your new home in Hamilton! BrendaBrenda Luci, H.P.O. volunteer, Feb. 9th

hey there mr. Gaisin,
it was a pleasure meeting you on opening nite of jerry springer
thank you for the kind words in your review…it means a lot to have my work as a performer and our collective work as a creative team acknowledged and appreciated
thank you once again,—JP Bevilacqua (aka Jonathan/Satan) Jan. 19, ’09

Thanks for the kind words on my daughter’s performance. I plan to F-off to hart house next week, so I hope to be aghast, offended and laughing my ass off.Alvin Gallant (Linda’s dad) Jan. 19, 09

Hi Daniel and Terry,
 I am so glad to have you to attend our event.Thank you so much for your kind words. 
Let’s keep in touch. Happy New Year!
Pixing Zhang, director -NTD-TV, Jan. 10, 2009

Dear Terry – I enjoyed your review of Oliver! and agree with your comments. I do have to mention that you forgot to include a review of the children’s chorus. I think that their performances of “Food Glorious Food” as well as their time as “Fagin’s Boys” were both equally impressive – particularly since this is the first show for many of them. They were a pleasure to watch and certainly added another dimension to this excellent production.Cheers!

Sonia Boyle Stoney Creek, ON, Dec. 15th 2008

O.A.R. Theatre Critic

Was it just me? I found Heather Hodgson, in Mending Fences, a bit too much – she flings herself around the stage and talks as if she is continually clearing her throat. I enjoyed the play – is there a better fit for the female lead?

Joanne (no last name) Nov. 3rd

Hi Danny,Wowie! Thanks so much for that awesome review! Woo hoo! It’s so beautifully written and totally captures the highlights of the MARTYS. Your wife has a fantastic writing style. We are so happy that you could attend the event and that you had a great time. It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely wife in person. Thanks again and I hope to see you both in the near future.Cheers,

Heather Bissenden, Communications Mgr. Mississauga Arts Council, Oct. 21st.

Hi Danny,

Congratulations on reviewing so many events for the HPO and other Ontario Arts Organizations! You are, to my knowledge, the ONLY critic at the present time posting reviews for the HPO! I sincerely hope you will continue in this vein. No matter the specific content of the review————-it is still vitally important for everyone to know in this day and age —— that there WAS a Concert —-your opinion of it, and, most important, that the Creative Arts hold a special place in people’s hearts and minds and that they are willing and eager to spend their time and hard earned money to attend and be entertained. With my best wishes,

Lance Elbeck; concertmaster HPO; Toronto Philharmonia; Grand Salon Orchestra; violinist, McMaster University; HCA Oct. 16

Hi Danny….thanks for the article…great! It was fun to see you and Terri again. Please drop around anytime. Regards,

Michael

Michael Keys; performing artist, Sept.6th

Hello Mr. Gaisin,

Two years ago I had the pleasure of meeting you at the opening night of a production of ‘Evita’ that I was performing in at Theatre Aquarius with their summer school. After having spoken to you that night, you wrote a wonderful review of the show. This was in August of 2006. Now, as I collect reviews for my professional portfolio, I realize that I never saved a copy of that review, and it would be a great one to have on file. I was just wondering if (and I know its a long shot) you still had that review saved somewhere. If you do, It would be wonderful if I could get a copy of it, if not, I understand, and I thank you again, your words were very kind and encouraging.

Any help you can provide would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much!

Evan Smith – actor, July 19th

Hi Danny

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I really appreciate it!! So glad you enjoyed the show!! Gracias for the positive words and look forward to including it in my website. I’m pleased that you got to meet my family too!! Muchos saludos Amanda Martinez, Broadcaster & singer/songwriter. May 22nd

Hi Danny and Terry

Thanks again for all you do for the OCO! The weekend dinner and concert review by Mayor Burton & Wendy were very much appreciated! Take care.

Charlotte Meissner, Pres.- O.C.O. May 7,

Dear Mr. Gaisin – your wonderful review for our Sheridan production of Urinetown has touched many hearts.We are all grateful for (and flattered by) your warm, supportive comments.It was lovely speaking with you (and your very charming wife) on opening night!Blessings to you, sir! (“Hail, Malthus!”)

Marek Norman. Director; URINETOWN, Sheridan College, Apr. 13th

Dear Sir:

The undersigned read with interest the Ontario Arts Review item concerning the ongoing run of Miss Saigon at Mississauga’s Meadowvale Theatre. The review appeared online over the week-end.

There are 2 errors in this review: 1) Miss Saigon is being presented by City Centre Musical Productions and not Meadowvale Theatre (as you doubtless are aware, “Meadowvale” is part of another community theatre group in the Encore Series: Meadowvale Music Theatre); 2) reference in the review is to “a fence blocking the Americans from the Vietnamese, …” – it should be the other way around, given that the Americans were fleeing, with the fence keeping the Vietnamese away from the Americans’ transportation. (It’s an ambitiously mounted, emotionally charged scene that works in any event.)As a long time reader of your Review, it goes without saying that your publication is always topical and a valuable contribution to the local arts community.

Regards,

Rob MacFarlane Mar. 31st

Dear Danny, Our thanks for your kind recollections of the Healeys. I’m, compiling them to send to his family. Jeff really was a unique artist, a generous man, and someone with a great sense of humour who was made happy and content by his gift. He was one of the finest musicians I’ve ever had the privilege of hearing and knowing and working with.I have a feeling that he’s already joined a new band; Louis is on first trumpet, Duke at the piano, and Stevie Ray on guitar….Kind regards, Richard

Richard Flohil & Associates, Publicity reps, Mar 3rd,

Mr. Gaisin,Thanks so much for writing such a wonderful review. Chelsea was thrilled! (Cinderella)The Smith Family (Fern Hill School) Feb. 21st, Thanks so much for your kind words about David Copperfield. I’ve spoken to some of the cast and crew, & we’re all elated to make your end-of-year list. Wishing you the best for 08!

Mimi Mekler. Feb. 11th

 

Hi Terry & Danny, O.A.R.

Thanks for the review … very nice. You got it right — it is like coloring … creativity within a framework. The structure sets you free. And thanks for being there on Saturday. Brian Hayman, Feb. 8, ’08

The Editor; Ontario Arts ReviewYour kind reviews have been very encouraging to some first-timers on the Oakville stage, especially ‘Winslow Boy’ and ‘Oliver’. “Dad, we got good reviews’ the kids chirped as they read your articles. Both reviews went straight to [building] their confidence. Thank you for supporting local artists.

name withheld by request, Jan 26, ’08

Hey Danny, Well that’s a great top 20 for 2007 Thank you so much for all of your support!! Cheers!Laura

Laura Landauer, stage actress, Jan 15, ’08.

Ontario Art Review,… D & T. Gaisin

Thanks very much for this Danny and Terry (Inclusion in O.A.R. ‘Top Ten”)

- Happy New Year!

Charlotte Meissner President- Oakville Chamber Orch, Jan. 2nd, 2008

Danny,

Thank you for the lovely review! What a treat! It was surely a most enjoyable evening for me – and I felt a lot of love and energy from the audience. Thank you again, and I hope you and Terry have a wonderful Christmas.

Cheers! emilie-claire

Emilie-Claire Barlow; Recording artist & jazz concert performer, Dec. 16th 2006

Hello Daniel

It was a pleasure to meet you and your lovely wife at the Seussical opening last night. Tyler loves your review, as do we all. Thank-you for your kind words.

Sincerely,

Barbara Pearse Mother of Tyler, (OLIVER ’06) Dec. 8th

Danny:

Thanks so much for taking the time to review our production of Scrooge – your insightful comments are much appreciated. As you are aware, this is our first production, and your review, combined with a great opening night audience, gives us much pride in the future of Pringlewood Productions.

It was a pleasure seeing you again and look forward to our next meeting (at MMT’s Joseph or CCMP’s Miss Saigon, perhaps?).

On a personal note, I would appreciate it if you could email me a copy of the original photo in electronic form (ie JPG) that you took – it is quite good.

Regards and thanks,

David O’Hearn Pringlewood Theatre Productions, Dec. 5th

Dear Terry and Danny,

Thank you so much for advertising, attending and publicizing our Faculty Concert at the LAC: it was a great opportunity for Merriam School to gain exposure to the Community and we are very grateful for your very positive and encouraging review. The picture has captured the spirit of our talented musicians in the best possible way!

Looking forward to your visit to our Enriched Studies Gala in June,

With best regards,

Tatiana Voitovitch. teacher/ concert pianist- Merriam School, Nov. 25th

Hello Danny,

Thanks a lot for writing such a complimentary review. Your racing analogy was terrific…….I was definitely playing in overdrive much of the time! The photo turned out really well too. Until next time,

Erica

Erica Goodman, Harpist :- BSO,CBC, NAC Nov. 13th

Re: Review – “The Winslow Boy

Thanks Danny, you were very kind. I will book those tickets for you.

David

David Nash, Producer / director -Oakville Players, Nov. 8th

To Ontario Arts Review people;

Hi Danny, Sorry you couldn’t make it out, but we are glad that Terry was able to.

Terry, I hope you enjoyed the show. It was great for us. We love Chuck he is a great performer and a great person too. We had a nice jam session which exhausted all of us. The night did not end until 2am. Lots of fun.

Thanks again for coming out and hope to see you again.

Warren and Amanda (Musak) ‘SWEETGRASS’ – performing artists Oct. 21st.

Hi Daniel,

I am writing to say that we really appreciate your help with the advertising on your www.ontarioartsreview.ca., and its great news to hear all the wonderful clicks on our ad!! Also, we thank you for the write up on Midlife, I am sure we have received some positive results do to your publicity.

Let me know if there are any other promotional opportunities with you.

Thanks again.

Sara Pezza Marketing/Public Relations Coordinator

Stage West All Suite Hotel & Theatre Restaurant Oct. 19th

Danny,

Thanks again for coming out last night to the Moonshine. I hope that you enjoy the CD and that it goes over well with the kids on your drive!

Hope you have a lovely week, and see you soon.

Cheers,

Jenn Jenn Ryan, recording artist Oct. 14th

Thanks Danny…

Wow…the first time in a while that I’ve had to haul out my dictionary…”Mensch” is a new one to me! Glad to hear it’s a compliment!!

This is a personal evening for me at Hamilton Place. My brother, Tom, who was diagnosed with MS about 8 years ago…he’s spearheading the whole event. He’s convinced he’s going to sell this thing out!! My other brother, Rob, lost his young wife of 50 to cancer this past May. A very good friend lost her mother to ALS as well…

Cheers,

Jim

Jim Witter “The Pianomen”; theatre performer , Sept. 19th

Note: “Mensch” is a German term for someone possessing all the good qualities of a man!

Hi Danny,

I saw your review and it was great! I quote you in my promo packs that I use for media.

So thank you again for coming to my show it was wonderful to have met you. I’ll keep you posted on future events.Have a great weekend!

Laura

Laura Landauer, actor – “Celine Speaks” Aug. 30th

Hi Danny,

Thank you for your efforts for Tristan! The run is going well– houses are good and getting better– we’re one of the top gainers in box office sales every

week, so we must be doing something right!

I hope this finds you well,

Paul

Paul Sportelli, Writer/Composer of Shaw’s “TRISTAN” Aug. 29th

Hi Terry & Danny

Thanks so much for your kind note. Your evening sounds as if it will be wonderful! It’d be great to see you upon your return, if you’re still up for socializing…and if not, that’s just fine, we’ll connect another time soon. (All the more reason to book a follow-up gig!) We have several friends out your way…beautiful homes and setting.

Anyway, thanks for keeping in touch and best wishes for the gala concert!

Lynn

Lynn Harrison, composer/singer Aug. 21st.

Dear Danny

I’m impressed that Terry and yourself racked up such a high number of shows viewed!(Hamilton Fringe). You are possibly the busiest people I know! I must also say thankyou for your supportive review of The Ugly Stiks show Berbie’s Jam. It brought a smile to my face!Take care and see you soon,

Whitney,

Whitney McRae, actress Aug. 21st

Dear H.A.R.

Thank you so much. Terrific photo and really kind words!Much appreciated!

Regards to Terry! All good wishes,

Stephen.

Stephen Glass, Music Director; Shaar Hashomayim Syn. Mtl. Aug. 10th

Dear Halton Arts Review

Thanks, Danny- for your help. The Canadian Percussion Ensemble ( Jean Norman Iadeluca and Ernest Porthouse from HPO) passed an educational milestone 500th performance,june 28 at St.Paul`s school in Burlington.

Jean Norman Iadeluca. C.P.E. July 3rd.

Dear Danny and Terry:

Thank you for your support and enthusiasm for the ARTS in Halton. We truly appreciate your genuine point of view and your tireless efforts and friendship.

Paul J. Groulx & Yilmaz (Yo) Mustafa

W.E.S.T. (West End Studio Theatre) June 10th

Hi Danny & Terry!

Was great to see you (even if so briefly) after the show last week.

Thanks for taking the time to come backstage and for your support

in the dvd! I can’t wait to see it myself…;)

Warmest regards, and hope to see you again soon,

Yours,

Susanne

Yi-Jia Susanne Hou, Concert violinist, May 28th

Danny,

Great review. I enjoyed meeting and talking with you and your wife at the reception after the HPO concert on Saturday night. I have your website book-marked, so I will continue to read your reviews, and other information posted on the site.

Dr. Joan B. Heels, Ph.D.May 25th

Thanks again Danny…Always grateful for publicity….

I will be in the same room for the Fringe in August… Hopefully by then we will have the air conditioning sorted out!

Brian Morton Artistic director, Theatre Erebus May 26th

Hello Danny!

Thank you so much for coming to Tosca and all your coverage, both before and after the show. Loved your review (it’s on the wall)! I really appreciate all the extra efforts you and Terry put towards supporting our organization. I also thank you for hosting Mr. Abela – it seemed he enjoyed himself! You two are great hosts.

I’m looking forward to working on next season together. Keep these dates marked if you can:

Magic Flute – Oct. 18th; Popera – Nov. 22nd; Werther– Feb 7th; Madama Butterfly – April 24

Talk to you soon!

Kim Kimberly Neil; Marketing Manager Opera Hamilton May 15th

Hi Danny,

I just wanted to thank you for the kind words about my photographic

show. When selecting work to show others, you never quite know how it

will be received, so I’m glad to see that some of the people who

attended liked the work.

Thanks again,- Scott -

Scott MacQuarrie, artistic photographer, May 9, ’07

Dear Danny and Terry,

May I take the opportunity to kindly extend my heartiest thanks for the wonderful and enjoyable yesterday evening.

My thanks also go to your excellent hospitality and to all the nice and talented personalities I had the opportunity to meet at the Hamilton Opera.

Thank you so much for coming to and all your coverage, both before and after the show. Loved your review ()! I really appreciate all the extra efforts you and Terry put towards supporting our organization. I also thank you for hosting Mr. Abela – it seemed he enjoyed himself! You two are great hosts.I’m looking forward to working on next season together. Keep these dates marked if you can: – Oct. 18th; – Nov. 22nd; – Feb 7th; – April 24Talk to you soon!Kimberly Neil; Marketing Manager Hi Danny,I just wanted to thank you for the kind words about my photographic show. When selecting work to show others, you never quite know how it will be received, so I’m glad to see that some of the people who attended liked the work.Thanks again,- Scott -artistic photographer, Dear Danny and Terry,May I take the opportunity to kindly extend my heartiest thanks for the wonderful and enjoyable yesterday evening. My thanks also go to your excellent hospitality and to all the nice and talented personalities I had the opportunity to meet at the .

Whilst wishing you a relaxing and a fantastic weekend, please accept my best personal regards.

Sincerely,Edwin

Edwin Abela Consul General of Malta May 4th

Dan,

Thank your for such a wonderful review of CARS 2007.

Early on in the run, i believe your review helped the cast to pull together.

You’re never sure if it’s a good show when you’re IN the show. But you affirmed what I had hoped for this production. SO thank you for that. It’s been a success ever since.

It was a pleasure to meet both of you, and I hope that we will meet again.

Perhaps at the Hamilton fringe? Please let me know if there is anything I can do to facilitate this.

It would be another great opportunity for the students to take part in. Peace,

Noah Henne, Sheridan College Apr. 19th

Hi Danny,

I just wanted to thank you for your wonderful review of “Marathon Of Hope”. It was a great first step for the show and it meant a lot to have your support. We’re moving forward with the show, making changes and looking to the future. Hope this note finds you well.

All the Best

John Connelly, playwright Mar. 25th

Subject: Wizard of Oz Review

Thankyou for the great review !! One note please, the Music Director and the Lions last name is Feggans, not Foggans.

Thankyou for the costume mention. A LOT of people were involved with creating them, along with our Director’s vision.

Thanks again !!!

Penny Oliver

Costume Coordinator The Wizard of Oz Feb. 26th

Dear Danny,

Hi, I commend your review…approaching the work and performance from many perspectives. Of course, we are biased as well. John Connelly is our Nephew. We are in Florida..and too far away to see performances of this work…Your review brought it to life for us….and what a wonderful role model in Terry Fox.

Many thanks!

Milt & Arlene MacLean Feb. 17th

Thanks for all your kind comments, Danny. It’s always a pleasure to have a visit from you and Terry.

May I point out the correct spelling of three names? They are: Sarah Jane Burton, Diana Cofini, and Sarah Spencer.

I look forward to seeing you at A CHASTE MAID IN CHEAPSIDE. Thanks again and take care!

– Patrick Young, Artistic Director- UTM Feb. 9th ’07

Dear Danny & Terry @ H.A.R. Thank you my friends!

I´m in Germany at the moment singing Aida with Rossella again. We wew talking aboutr our canadian experience yesterday…I miss you very much too. Rossella and I pray that maybe one day we can sing again in your beautiful country.

With love

Stefania Scolastici Soprano, La Scala & Rome operas Jan.25, 2007

Hi Danny and Terry:

Thanks for the great review Terry! Sorry you could not be there Danny.

We had another record-breaking turnout at Sunday’s matinee so our

attendance really is going up!

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Charlotte Meissner, President, O.C.O. Nov. 27th ‘2006

Danny, thank you for all of your kind words. We truly appreciate it and will forward it along with email and the Halton Arts Review address to all we know!!! Thanks for coming out with your wife.

Sandi Gondor Nov. 20, ’06

Dear Terry an Danny,

thank you so much! You’ve really a big heart.

I don’t know if we can meet again but I thank God for giving me the chance to cross your way! Big hug!

Stefania Scholastici, soprano, Rome Opera, Nov.10th

Hello,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the show “Radium Girls” and Theatre

Erindale. It was a pleasure to read your review in the Halton Arts

Review. I Just wanted to let you know that my name was mis-spelled in

the review.The spelling of my last name is Ramsay not Ramsey.

Thank you for coming to see the show and I look foreward to seeing you

at all of our Theatre Erindale Shows in the coming season.

Lauren Ramsay Oct.31st,

Correction made, and our apologies – Editor

Hi Danny,

TAP’s fall production (Lend me a Tenor) wraps up this weekend and I would like to put your excellent photo of the cast onto coffee mugs to present to each of them at the final-night party. May I have your permission to download it from the HAR website for this purpose? Thanks in advance,

Steve Amor [Aldershot Players], Oct,.24th

re: Sound of Music

Hello; I am one of the nuns/stage-hands. Thank you so much for such a wonderful and well-written review. It really buoyed the spirits of the cast and crew when we saw it today (Sunday). We are really happy you enjoyed the show (‘we must have done something good’), and hope the rest of our audiences feel the same way you do. Sincerely,

Lori Koenen, Sept. 22nd

Hi Danny,

Was very nice to meet you and speak to you yesterday after the concert. :) Also nice to know we both know the Brott’s! How serendipitous. :) Anyway, if you don’t mind, I’d like to keep you on my contact list…I have a few events coming up I’d be happy to have you attend. Oh, and please let me know when your review of last night’s concert comes out. Thanks & Warmest regards,

Yi-Jia ‘Susanne’ Hou, violinist, Sept. 3rd

Dear Danny,

I am sending you this message hoping you will remember me. I am Claudia Motea and we met during the Hamilton Fringe Festival. You wrote an outstanding review about my play: Never Another Girl Like Me. Firstly, it was my pleasure to meet you and Terry. I take this opportunity to thank-you for attending my play and mostly for appreciating it. I was pleasantly surprised when you attended for second showing with your wife, Terry. You touched my heart in a special way. I always dared to believe in beautiful dreams and I worked very hard to accomplish all of them. Several years ago, I didn’t speak much English ( I was exactly like my character from the play: an immigrant who just cleaned, dreamed, and never stopped hoping some day she would get to her shinny star). At this moment; writing and performing in English is one of my beautiful dreams coming true.

Once again, I thank you for coming to my show and for glimpsing inside of my soul! Your appreciation of my play was very touching and encouraging for me, and it gave me the confidence to move ahead in pursuing my acting and writing work in English. Although we spoke briefly, I could feel the warmth in your heart and your love for people and the arts. You are truly a remarkable person! Good luck with all your dreams and I send best wishes of sunshine and joy to you and Terry! I hope our paths will cross again soon.

Claudia Motea, writer/actress, Sept. 3rd

Hi Danny!

Kevin here, writer of / actor in PIECES. Just wanted to say thanks for the

great feedback – however, I also have a request. In the review, you spelled

my last name “Dowsa” (which was probably due the unfortunately small print

in our programs). It’s actually “Dowse”. If it’s not a pain, I was wondering

if you could change that so that I can use your article for scrapbook /

media purposes. If it’s a hassle- then no worries. Thanks a bunch,

Kevin Dowse, Aug. 22nd

Hi Danny,

Thanks so much for your email. I would love to have Terry come and see us perform while she is in town.The best place I would recommend for her to come is the Radisson Whittier Hotel on Friday, August 18 (see first listing in our calendar email). There is no cover charge, and Whittier is not to far from Orange County (where her phone number with the Montes family would be located).

The other event which might be of interest to her is the Latin Jazz and Arts Festival at Prado Regional Park in Chino. However, I do not have access to any comps because the San Bernardino County Parks requires each vehicle to pay to enter, and that is the only fee for the concert. But the fee isn’t too high, especially if they have a full car! And the festival should be great! I hope she makes it! I’d love to meet her.

Best wishes to you! & Regards, Susie

Susie Hansen Latin Band, Los Angeles, Aug. 12th

Dear Mr. Gaisin,

It was a pleasure to meet you on Sunday. Thank you for coming to listen to Denis Brott, Winston Choi and me at the Art Gallery. I was looking for the Halton Arts Review and your article with a picture for a couple of days but could not find any in the magazine stores near the Ramada Plaza Hotel where I stay until August 17. Would you be so kind and send me a copy, please? I would like to forward it to Denis and Winston. Best regards,

Katerina Juraskova, concert cellist, Aug. 10th

Dear Mr. Gaisin,

Greetings, I enjoyed reading your review which Maestro Brott forwarded on to me. I am a faculty member at the Colburn School, and assistant to Professor Robert Lipsett, the girls’ teacher. Thank you for all the nice things you said about our students, who are already young professionals, and it was wonderful of Maestro Brott to invite them to solo with his fine orchestra. I am also proud to be Boris Brott’s concertmaster of his fine New West Symphony Orchestra in Thousand Oaks California.

I felt I should write to you, not only to appreciate your review, but also to let you know that the well endowed Colburn School is of course open to all students to North America, but also to students from any country in the world. We currently have quite a diverse and international student body.

I hope sometime if you come to Los Angeles, you will contact us for a special tour. Best regards,

Elizabeth Pitcairn, concert violinist, Los Angeles, July 29th

Hi Danny,

Really sorry we were not able to connect at the Beaches Jazz festival. As it was just Martine and myself handling media-there was a lot to do and not enough time to do it. I hope that you were able to keep sheltered from the rain and that you enjoyed PartiGras. Let me know if you require any additional info about the festival, performers etc..

Nadia Popatia, July 25th

Dear Danny;

Many, many thanks for the wonderful review of the Brott Summer Music Festival, in the Halton Arts Review. I’m sending you a big hug right now!!!

Kim Shippey, July 10th

Danny,

Thanks to you and Terry for heading out to our Festival Launch and for attending Much Ado. We have enjoyed your review and certainly appreciate it. I am not sure if you received the official media advisory regarding complementary tickets for the shows at the Heritage (Art, Last Five Years and Wake Me When It’s Over). Should you need tickets for these three, please contact me directly and I will arrange–rather than going to the Box Office.

If you still have your Brampton Festival Programme Guide, you can see the available dates and let me know which suits you best.Cheers.

Sandra Baker; Brampton, June 27th

Hi, HALTON ARTS REVIEW

Is there anyway I can get a print copy of your article on the Halton Youth Symphony Orchestra which has a glowing mention of the Halton Junior Jazz (including a mention of my son, Hudson!). I wasn’t sure if yours was a paper publication or strictly online.
Deborah Sowery-Quinn , June 15th

Good afternoon Mr. Gaisin,
Just writing to thank you for your piece on the Mark Eisenman event . I would like to include it on our website in our new section ‘Paul Hahn in the News’ that is currently in the works. I trust that you will have no objection.

I am happy to have met you and Mrs. Gaisin, and enjoyed our conversation last Thursday. I look forward to consulting the Halton Arts Review frequently in the future & hope to see you both soon.

Nice to meet people that share my enthusiasm for live music and the people that make it.

Please stay in touch and add my email address to your list that I might be apprised of any of YOUR goings- on.
Best regards,
Jeremy Elliott, May 24th

Hello, H.A.R. Staff
I was wondering if I could see your review of W.E.S.T’s musical Cabaret as I did not catch it while it was up on the archive list. Thanks so much for your dedication to live theatre and I hope to hear from you soon.
Stephanie Guest, May 24th

Just wanted to write and thank you again for travelling in all the way from Oakville to hear my recital last night. I also wanted to mention that I’ve known Beethoven’s fourth piano concerto for some time now and am very interested in playing it with an orchestra. Just thought I’d mention it to you in case you know any conductors or ensembles who might be interested. Thanks again,
Elissa Miller-Kay; concert pianist; Richmond Hill. May 18th

Hi Danny
Thanks for the great review and of course, for the excellent lead on Elissa. She was amazing and people are still talking! Take care.
Charlotte Meissner; O.C.O. May 9th

Dear Danny,
Daniel (Lipton) passed your card on to me after the performance, and I must tell you how touched and honored I was to read your review. A singer always hopes to get a “good” review, but to know that you, as a reviewer, were so emotionally involved in the performance and to hear it stated so eloquently is truly a gift. This review will be front and center in my website (jeaninethames.com) and will be shared with my happy friends and relatives. Thank you for your beautiful words.
Jeanine Thames; Operatic soprano, Plano TX, May 6th

Danny,
Just a quick note to say thanks for taking the time to review our show, Out Of Order. I know from personal experience that it takes time and energy to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard!) and I appreciate the feedback and effort.

Opening night was a great success (the little flubs from dress rehearsal were corrected) and the audience’s laughter drowned out the lines on stage many times during the show!

I’ll keep you updated on any future performances by The Aldershot Players. Our next season’s line up of Lend Me A Tenor and I Hate Hamlet should be a good one.
Thanks again,
Scott Broe, Apr. 30th

Dear Daniel
Just read your review of Out of Order in the Halton Arts Review. Glad you got to see it, although it is too bad that you weren’t able to make opening night. They brought down the house. And of course, I had been hoping that you would make some mention of Erin, which is why I gave you a heads up about the play in the first place. However, the unofficial reviews that I overheard around me at intermission and in the women’s washroom made it official. Erin is hilarious! She had the audience in stitches. The play looked good, and was very funny, even in the familiar English farce mode. The cast was strong and everyone got lots of laughs, but Erin (Jane Worthington) slayed them in the first act.

Anyway, thanks for getting out, especially when you were dealing with grief and other commitments. I look forward to checking in on the Review from time to time. I am the new coordinator of the Songwriters Association of Canada’s Halton Regional Writers Group. We meet the first Monday of every month at The Moonshine Cafe. I will give you a heads up if I hear of any other items that might be of interest to you. And continued good luck with the Halton Arts Review.
Catherine Thompson, April 29th

Hello Danny,
Thank you for the wonderful review. As I said to the cast, it is a blessing to have an opportunity to make people laugh. But to have our more subtle intents (characterization, etc.) recognized as well is very fulfilling.

If I may recommend one factual correction – Miss Tipdale, the office assistant mentioned in the passage below is played by Karen Brodie rather than Tracy Rowland (who plays the wife, Maude Bodley): Thanks again for your kind words and your support for community theatre. I will certainly be keeping in touch. My best to you and your wife.
Regards,
Andrew Humeniuk, Apr. 22nd, 2006

19 comments

  1. Hi Danny,
    Thank you so very much for your generous review of Numbers by Kokus Production for the Toronto Fringe Festival. I am very thrilled about your kind words on Ella. (A small correction, her last name is spelled Ballentine.) I also would like to add that the dramatic elements were directed by the very talented Robyn Kay Pilarski who also wrote the story based on true events.
    Thanks again,
    Eva Ballentine

  2. I can’t seem to find the spot on this website in which to find whom to contact to send information on upcoming shows and such. am i just blind? please advise!

  3. dear editor,
    In March 2011 you posted a review of La voix humaine by Halina Reijn Theatergroup Amsterdam, the archive runs to May 2011. Could you help me to find this article?

  4. Just wish to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness in your post is just great and i can assume
    you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your
    permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated
    with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please
    keep up the enjoyable work.

  5. With these simple tips, you will surely be a
    reliable and credible roofing contractor Atlanta. It would
    be great if residents showed their roofing contract, especially if they have switched contractors at one point.
    For your roofing needs, roofing companies in Toronto make sure that
    you get only high quality made roofs for your home.

  6. Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will certaiinly digg it
    and personally recommend to my friends. I aam sure
    they will be benefited from this site.

  7. Great website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any community forums that cover the same topics discussed in this
    article? I’d really love to be a part of online community where I can get responses from other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Appreciate it!

  8. We are a bunch of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our
    community. Your web site offered us with valuable info to
    work on. You’ve performed an impressive activity and our entire community might be grateful to
    you.

  9. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful info particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thank yyou and best of luck.

  10. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest.

    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed as well.

  11. Hello there, ust became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is
    truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate
    if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s